The Warwickshire Yeomanry Museum opens for the 2017 Season on Good Friday 14 April at 11am.
The Museum which is managed through a Charitable Trust is situated in the basement of The Court House, Jury Street, Warwick will be officially opened by the Mayor of Warwick Cllr Christine Cross on 14 April at 11am. Those wishing to attend are more than welcome to do so.
The Museum is normally open at weekends and bank holidays from Easter until the end of October each year.We offer Group Visits and private bookings by appointment - see website for details. http://www.warwickshire-yeomanry-museum.co.uk/
The Museum Trustees have a responsibility: To safeguard the heritage and collective memory of those who have served with the Warwickshire Yeomanry so that both present and future generations may learn the importance of the past through its history.
The Warwickshire Yeomanry Cavalry was formed on 25th June 1794 for internal defence to counter the threat of invasion, arising from the disturbed condition of affairs in France. Two contingents of Warwickshire Imperial Yeomanary served in South Africa during the Anglo-Boer War. The Regiment fought with distinction in both World Wars and was amalgamated with the Queen’s Own Worcestershire Hussars in 1956, to become the Queen’s Own Warwickshire and Worcestershire Yeomanry.
The Museum provides a fascinating insight into the history of the Regiment by way of time lined displays, in a series of themed rooms. Comments in the visitor’s book include ‘Spectacular, Exceptionally Good, Well Worth Visiting. Over the past 5 months the Friends of the Museum have been working on further improvements to the Museum.