Fortified Farms - Cape Frontier Wars: Rietfontein

For all discussions relating to the Seventh, Eigth and Nineth Cape Frontier Wars fought between 1846 and 1878.

Fortified Farms - Cape Frontier Wars: Rietfontein

Postby fbvanouds » 23 Aug 2014 06:57

Hallo
I’m a newbie who recently joint this forum. I am looking for information (maps by the Royal Engineers, etc.) on a fortified farm, Rietfontein.

Rietfontein is one of the almost perfectly preserved fortified farms left in the Eastern Cape. The farm lies almost as if was the day the buildings was completed.

The farm is situated in the Fort Beaufort district, 20 km S. S West of the town, on the Gardness Drift road. This is the Koonap Field Cornetcy, or as it was originally called, The Konappe.

Arrowsmith’s map (1851) has an old fort marked, more or less where Rietfontein is situated. In some old document, the farm is also referred to as Fort Riet-Fontein.

Rietfontein was strategically located. From Grahamstown to Hermanus Kraal (Fort Brown), the distance was 40 km (one day’s drive with an ox wagon). Another 40 km brought you to Rietfontein, with Fort Beaufort 32 km further on.
The Grahamstown – Fort Beaufort road crossed Rietfontein up till the completion of the Victoria Bridge and Queens Road in 1841.

After visiting Rietfontein, it should be clear that the farm could have been nothing less than a well fortified outpost, with troops, linking the important military headquarters of Grahamstown with the hinterland forts.
Attachments
RietfonteinGrootboom 1925.jpg
RietfonteinGrootboom 1925.jpg (130.52 KiB) Viewed 1821 times
Waterkamer 01.jpg
Waterkamer 01.jpg (184.35 KiB) Viewed 1821 times
Rietfontein 1982 Hatting.jpg
Watercolour painting of Rietfontein 1982
Rietfontein 1982 Hatting.jpg (189.35 KiB) Viewed 1821 times
Rietfontein 1899.jpg
Pen portrait of Rietfontein 1899
Rietfontein 1899.jpg (124.75 KiB) Viewed 1821 times
Rietfontein 1960.jpg
Aerial view of Rietfontein - 1960