Recreation of the 41st Brockville Rifles (Canadian Militia)

Section for re-enactors and those interested in the re-enacting of Victoria's wars.

Recreation of the 41st Brockville Rifles (Canadian Militia)

Postby gra12er » 06 Jan 2012 04:46

Hello all,

I am a new member to this forum, although I have read through the posts for more than a year. I am a history teacher at a high school in Brighton, Ontario. We run a drill team at the school. We are very industrious, and have represented a number of units in the past, including American Civil War (69th NYSV), as well as the War of 1812 (Glengarry L.I., Provincial Marine, Local militia). For the past two years we have also been recreating the 5th company, 41st Battalion, Brockville Rifles (ca. 1866). We have gone to several events, including the reenactment of the battle of Ridgeway at Fort Erie, as well as encampments at several pioneer villages in the area.

I look forward to benefiting from the forum's collective wisdom, as I seek to improve our authenticity. I am new to recreating this time period, but I am enjoying it immensely. I have included some photos of our group. Comments welcome!

brockville Rifles 3.jpg
Photo of one of our sergeants.
brockville Rifles 3.jpg (65.54 KiB) Viewed 3336 times

brockville Rifles 1.jpg
Our company at Upper Canada Village (near Cornwall, Ontario) during the Victoria Day celebrations.
brockville Rifles 1.jpg (64.03 KiB) Viewed 3336 times
Geoff Audas
Coach,
E.N.S.S. Student Drill Team
(est. 2006)
gra12er

Re: Recreation of the 41st Brockville Rifles (Canadian Milit

Postby ED, in Los Angeles » 06 Jan 2012 08:28

Welcome aboard. I just got finished posting about re-enacting and really admire those who do it. Great, large contingent of re-enactors. I approve of your good looking sergeant.
ED, in Los Angeles

Postby QSVC » 06 Jan 2012 09:08

Hello, and welcome.