Potential MA dissertation topics...

Section for new members to introduce themselves and get tips and advice on how to get the best out of the forum.

Potential MA dissertation topics...

Postby Pete Mellar » 01 Feb 2011 14:38

Hi everyone, I'm a student at the University of York currently undertaking a Masters in Modern History. I'm currently in the process of deciding what my dissertation topic should be for the next academic term, and although I've had a long-time interest in both the Zulu and Boer Wars (indeed, I did my BA dissertation on the former), I'm struggling to disseminate a topic that is original enough to be considered by my course convenor. I just wondered if anybody had any suggestions about particular pitfalls in the historiography of the Boer War that could be filled; I'm particularly interested in British and Boer POWs during the campaign, and the exaggerated importance that has been placed upon the war by numerous scholars since. Any ideas would therefore be gratefully received. Cheers, Pete.
Pete Mellar

Re: Potential MA dissertation topics...

Postby Mark » 01 Feb 2011 15:00

Hi Pete

Sounds like a wonderful opportunity to write a dissertation on a subject related to the Victorian Wars. I studied Criminology for my Masters degree (for professional reasons) but sometimes a small part of me often wishes I had also taken history as a subject at university. As to a topic I would go for something that may not have been overly written about before by previous students. One should also keep the focus of the topic narrow, so many students get a little too broad. I'm sure you know all this anyway?!

One area of the Anglo-Boer War I've always found interesting is the thorny issue of the British concentration camps. Just a thought...

Mark
Mark Simner BA (Hons) MSc | Web: http://marksimner.me.uk | Twitter @marksimner
Mark
Forum Administrator

Postby Pete Mellar » 01 Feb 2011 17:44