2nd Manchester Regiment Khaki Drill Frock

For all discussions relating to military uniforms, insignia, equipment and medals of the Victorian period.

2nd Manchester Regiment Khaki Drill Frock

Postby VictorianEra » 10 Mar 2017 04:58

Hello once again forum members. I have been fortunate enough to acquire my first British Victorian Boer War KD Frock to add to my collection, and I thought I'd share it with the forum. The KD Frock is stamped to the 2nd Manchester Regiment, but a real bonus is that it comes with it's original trousers also stamped to the 2nd Manchester Reg. The KD Frock itself is in really good condition and only has 1 missing collar tab. It has a marksmanship? badge and 2 chevrons indicating the rank of Corporal? The trousers are also in pretty good condition. I'm not an expert on trousers, or any of this at all, actually, so I can't really comment on the trousers, other than they are in pretty good condition. These are pictures from the seller by the way.

I've been reading on KD Frocks lately and I have been getting some mixed results. I have a few questions. I was wondering if the KD Frocks were:

1. used in battle throughout the entire war
2. used in battle early war and then the Khaki Serge replaced it and then KD was only used for guarding blockhouses, etc or
3. used only in block houses and garrisons, and minor small scale battles, while the khaki serge was used in battles?

I've been doing some reading as I understand it the the 2nd Manchesters arrived in Natal in April 1900 for reinforcements and took part in the reliefs of Ladysmith, Kimberley and Mafeking. After the fall of Bloemfontein and Pretoria the 2nd Manchesters helped to hunt down remaining Boer commandos and burnt properties. But that's just from what I read. Any help or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again for reading,

-Jamie
Attachments
unnamed-60.jpg
unnamed-60.jpg (8.8 KiB) Viewed 308 times
unnamed-63.jpg
unnamed-63.jpg (12.14 KiB) Viewed 308 times