1885 NorthWest Campaign

For all discussions relating to military activities in Canada, 1837-1901.

1885 NorthWest Campaign

Postby berring » 03 Jan 2008 03:56

I am new to this forum and as I reside in Saskatchewan I thought I would offer my assistance to anyone who needs information about this campaign. I am no expert on it but have a few books and the medal role for the campaign. I have also been to Batoche (site of the largest battle) several times. Unfortunately the museum focuses less on the campaign and more on the metis situation. Riel was actually tried for treason (and hanged) only a few blocks from where I work. Anyway, nice to see other people out there who share the same interests as myself.
berring

Re: NorthWest Campaign - 1885

Postby Mark » 03 Jan 2008 15:00

Hi Berring

A warm welcome to the Forum and thank you for your very kind offer of help. As you can see we are still new to the world of Internet forums but we are slowly growing.

Very happy to have you aboard.

Mark
Mark Simner BA (Hons) MSc | Web: http://marksimner.me.uk | Twitter @marksimner
Mark
Forum Administrator

Postby Sabreur » 07 Jan 2009 02:37

Just joined! Have dropped by here occasionally and decided to jump in. I also live in Saskatchewan, just outside Prince Albert and am very interested in the 1885 Rebellion. I've managed to put together a fair library on it but am always looking for more info.

Cheers...
Sabreur

Postby GrantRCanada » 15 Jan 2009 07:41